North Carolina

Welcome to the North Carolina Chapter of the National Network of State Teachers of the Year! NC Teachers of the Year are committed to advancing the teaching profession and advocating for public education to ensure the best educational opportunities for all North Carolina students.

Mariah Morris


Mariah Morris is the 2019 North Carolina Teacher of the Year! Mariah Morris, a second-grade teacher at West Pine Elementary School in Pinehurst, was named the 2019 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year on Friday during a luncheon in Cary. The 13 year veteran has spent the last three years at West Pine where she advocates for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) education throughout Moore more


Welcome to our NCCAT Beginning Teachers of the Year!
We want to send a warm welcome to the NCCAT Beginning Teachers of the Year! These amazing 28 teachers from across North Carolina are invited to join... read more
Our Executive Committee Members
Karyn Dickerson (Co-President) Darcy Grimes (Co-President) Cindi Rigsbee (Vice President) Allison Ormond (Treasurer) Jennifer Bell... read more
Welcome to our new Executive Committee Members!
We want to say a huge welcome to our new Executive Committee Members! Angel Ledbetter Deb Brown  Bobbie Cavnar Keana Triplett... read more
Upcoming Meeting
March 14, 2020- Blended Meeting: Regional face to face locations connected via... read more

2019 North Carolina State Teacher of the Year Finalists:

  • Northeast: Damon Walcott, Washington High (Beaufort County Schools);
  • Southeast: Christy Howe, Bradley Creek Elementary (New Hanover County Schools);
  • North Central: C.R. “Katie” Eddings, Lee County High (Lee County Schools);
  • Piedmont-Triad: Shiela Patterson, South Stokes High (Stokes County Schools);
  • Southwest: Kate Culbreth, Wolf Meadow Elementary (Cabarrus County Schools);
  • Northwest: Laura Brooks, Wilkes Central High (Wilkes County Schools);
  • Western: Caesar Campana IV, Hayesville High (Clay County Schools); and
  • Charter Schools: Douglas Price, Voyager Academy, (Durham, NC)