About Us

Montana State Teachers of the Year Chapter

A Montana chapter of NNSTOY aims to extend the State Teacher of the Year (STOY) experience to the state level, bringing home the experiences and lessons learned by the state teachers of the year and finalists in order to broaden the influence of these teacher leaders in our own educational context.

This chapter was organized in 2016 by a team of state Teachers of the Year and finalists including Jessica Anderson (2016), Anna Baldwin (2014), Craig Beals (2015), Anne Keith (2010), and Shelly Stanton (2016 finalist).

Montana Teacher of the Year Program

There is no higher award for a Montana teacher than to be named Teacher of the Year. The Montana Teacher of the Year Program honors the contributions of Montana classroom teachers. It creates a visible and articulate community of award-winning educators who represent the best of the teaching profession.

The Montana Teacher of the Year serves as a spokesperson and advocate for the teaching profession and represents the state in the National Teacher of the Year event. MEA-MFT, Montana’s teachers’ union, currently supports the program at the state level through the Montana Professional Teaching Foundation.