The major purpose of the Teacher of the Year program is to recognize the contributions of the classroom teacher. Teacher quality and effectiveness is the most important school-based factor impacting student learning. No one person has a greater impact on the education of a child than does the teacher who creates the learning environment where children flourish and grow. The mission of the Missouri Teacher of the Year Program is to honor, promote and celebrate excellence in the teaching profession.

Beginning with the 2015-2016 year, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education will be establishing a Regional Teacher of the Year recognition level to the Missouri Teacher of the Year Program.  Through this addition, Missouri will be able to recognize excellence in teaching at the school, district, regional and statewide levels.  There will be two distinct routes that ultimately lead to the Missouri State Teacher of the Year Program. In some Missouri school districts, there is a building/district process that recognizes a district level Teacher of the Year.  Other districts do not have a structured process in place for this recognition.  Because one of the goals of the Missouri Teacher of the Year Program is to recognize highly effective teachers across the state, we want to acknowledge this difference and provide opportunities for all public and charter schools to participate.

Linda Glasgow

Linda Glasgow knew at a young age that education was her calling. “I played school and was always the teacher, volunteered to teach younger children at church, mothered my siblings and neighborhood children and worked at a childcare center in high school,” said Glasgow, a third-grade teacher at John Nowlin Elementary School in Blue Springs. On Wednesday, Glasgow was honored as Missouri’s 2015-16 Teacher of the Year during a surprise...read more

2016 Missouri State Teacher of the Year Finalists:

  • Kimberly Dailey
  • Michael Dragoni
  • Amy Krinke
  • Yulia Kotets,
  • Melissa Nussbaum