KTOY seeks to improve student learning across the state by supporting teachers, sharing best practices, and advocating for the teaching profession.


KTOY’s vision is for all Kansas students to have a motivated, insightful, and empowered teacher-leader.


  1. Motivate practicing and pre-service teachers across the state.
  2. Advance best practice and quality professional learning across the state.
  3. Empower teacher leadership and give voice to the teaching profession.



Samantha Neill


WICHITA – Samantha “Sam” Neill, an English language arts teacher at Buhler High School, Buhler Unified School District 313, was named the 2018 Kansas Teacher of the Year on Saturday, Nov. 18, during a special ceremony in Wichita. Kansas Commissioner of Education Randy Watson made the announcement at a gathering of 480 people during the Kansas Teacher of the Year Banquet at the Marriott Hotel, 9100 E. Corporate Hills Drive, in Wichita. “I...read more


Hello world!
Welcome to NNSTOY State Chapters Sites. This is your first post. Edit or delete it, then start... read more

2018 Kansas State Teacher of the Year Finalists:

  • Gilbert R. Still
  • Bradley W. Weaver
  • Jamie D. Manhart
  • Jennifer L. Donovan
  • Angela R. Powers
  • Megan E. Nagel
  • Sarah C. VenJohn